1. What did you learn about professional development by going through the design process?

I have learned this cycle the importance of group communication and that unforeseeable circumstances such as continued illness can majorly impact a development cycle.

  1. What did you learn about the other majors in the degree by working in mixed teams?

I now find that programming is a lot more enjoyable than it was in the first cycle once I understand why the code is being used it allows for a smoother process.

  1. What did you implement in your own individual work that you found the most satisfying?

I found creating the building in the centre of my level to be the most satisfying as it gave me a chance to explore blender and unity’s asset designing much further.

  1. Do you think that there are any ethical issues attached to designing a First Person Experience inspired by recent events?

The ethical issues attached to designing a game based on recent events could be bias. As the news stories that the game is based on could be slanted to a particular view. My game is a perfect example of this, being based on the recent articles of games such as Outlast 2 being banned in Australia.

 

This cycle had many problems due to mainly illness and due to that illness communication breakdown between members. The game was tweaked from initial ideas to be based around a group of robots sent by gamers to stop the banning of the games featured on the walls of the center building. However I feel that with the time we had (not sick) to work on the cycle we achieved an impressive feat. I have learnt from this experience and hope to improve my own assertiveness and communication skills much further in the next cycle.

